Catmose Principal

Home » Catmose College » Introducing William and Poppy, Head boy and girl

Introducing William and Poppy, Head boy and girl

senior students catmose oakham school

The senior prefect team at Catmose College

One of the most difficult decisions I have to make each year is which students will be head boy and girl. These roles are crucial to the College as they help guide the student council, the College’s development as they are an important touch stone in my decision-making when considering what is in the best interests of the College. They will represent the College at a number of public events and will often accompany myself to civic receptions involving the College. Max and Becky, last years head boy and girl helped open the new building, spoke at open evening and met with senior civil servants from the department for education; there is no doubt Billy and Poppy will have a similarly busy year.

To be chosen to take on these roles is not an easy task, students in year 10 are invited to apply, they complete an application form, write a personal statement and must demonstrate that not only are they academically strong but that they also contribute to the wider life of the College and its community. The students who apply are short listed and interviewed by myself and Mrs Townsend our team leader for student progress. It is fair to say that students find these interviews tough but rewarding, the experience standing them in good stead for later applications for competitive sixth form and university places. A number of students who have recently been successful in applying for Oxbridge places contacted me to say that the process for head boy and girl at Catmose was excellent preparation and contributed to their success.

This year the competition was as tough as ever and I made the decision to appoint four deputies to support the work of the head boy and girl; Abigail Pople, Grace Ray, William Kenard Kettle and Sebastian Quinn. These students will take leading roles on the student council, planning the year 11 prom and supporting the College community.

To give you an idea of our expectations for our most senior students I asked Poppy and Billy to write a short biography.

Poppy Spencer

head boy girl catmose oakham school

Catmose College Head boy and girl


I enjoy sports such as: Rounders, Netball, Athletics, Hockey and Dance. I also play Netball after school for Rutland Rockets, in an adult league. Furthermore, due to showing a strong interest in Rounders, I was put forward by the Sports Department to trial for U16 England Rounders. Although I enjoy sports, I have also taken part in Hairspray, where I was given the opportunity to be a Core Dancer. Moreover, I was able to Choreograph and help backstage for the year 9 performance, Alice in Wonderland. I have achieved various awards within and out of school; I have passed my Silver Arts Award, Sports Leader award and now I am a Sports Ambassador, I am currently a Junior Judo Referee at Silver level. Furthermore, I am currently training to be a Dance Leader and a Netball Umpire. My favourite subjects are: English, Spanish, History and Drama. I believe enjoying these subjects will help me progress and succeed in them at GCSE. Next year, I plan to go to a high achieving college, in order to then proceed to university.

William Hunt

One of my main interests that I have had throughout my life has been music and I currently play in multiple bands (one of which is the National Champions of Great Britain – Youth Brass 2000) and play various instruments including the horn, drums and piano. My favourite subjects in school are physics, maths and music, because they are what I am best at but I do enjoy all of my lessons. Recently I have passed my Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Award and am working towards my Silver. Also inside of school I have successfully passed the Sports Leader award and Arts Award, as well as getting a Distinction in an ICT course. I am currently studying for Grade 8 in both Horn and Drums and will be auditioning for the National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain next month.

1 Comment

  1. […] out more about their role, their contribution to the College and their future plans please click here. Other News Features Copyright 2009 – 2012 Catmose College All Right Received. Catmose […]

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 247,072 hits

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 247,072 hits
